Let’s salute our community spirit

Peninsula residents are a remarkable lot, tireless in their efforts to make our community even better than it is.  Now it’s time to have their dedication recognised.


Mornington Peninsula Shire Council is calling for nominations for the 2018 Australia Day Awards, when we get the chance to say “thank you” to those who voluntarily give their time and energy to our community.

If you know a friend, family member, co-worker or school companion who has gone above and beyond to make the Peninsula a better place, nominate them in the categories of Citizen of the Year and Young Citizen of the Year.  Have you been to a community event that you thoroughly enjoyed? Then why not nominate it for Community Event of the Year and give some well-deserved recognition to the organisers behind it.

This year, 24-year-old Stephanie Byrne, from Mount Martha, received the 2017 Young Citizen of the Year Award for her compassionate and never-ending work to help our homeless, living alongside young people in Fusion’s supported accommodation services and mentoring them as part of the Fusion support program.  Other 2017 winners were Bianca Appleford (Citizen of the Year), Kids’ Fun Run with K163 (Community Event of the Year), Barry Irving (Lifetime Achievement Award), and Ben Brunton and Edward Fuggle (Bravery Award).

Nominations for the 2018 Australia Day Awards close on Friday, November 10.  For information and nomination forms, visit mornpen.vic.gov.au/ausdayawards or contact Christine Aslanidis on 5950 1137 or at [email protected]


Member Login
Welcome, (First Name)!

Forgot? Show
Log In
Enter Member Area
My Profile Not a member? Sign up. Log Out